Powered by Bravenet Bravenet Blog

Subscribe to Journal

Monday, January 5th 2009

5:12 PM

About the www.toolsthatwork.com ByteBack fraud

Note: This is our own fault and you do not have to feel sorry for us. We'll survive it. But this is meant as a warning for current and potential Tech Assist customers and co software authors.

Several years ago we were contacted by a representative of Tech Assist, Inc. Tech Assist is a company that runs the website www.toolsthatwork.com. They offered a re-branded version of a well-known data recovery product 'MediaTools': 'ByteBack'.

Tech Assist, Inc.
PO Box 891
Palm Harbor , FL 34682

Tech Assist wanted a deal with us. They wanted to sell our DiskPatch as the next version of their ByteBack. They had 'problems' with the author of MediaTools. They never revealed what kind of problems, but I can't stop thinking that it may have been a situation similar to the one we are in now. Anyway, after a few weeks of corresponding we had a deal with Tech Assist. Apart from our DiskPatch they also bring 'their' versions of our Windows products.

And they still do. Now that would not be a problem if they'd still sent us sales reports and paid us for sold copies. However they stopped doing that for almost a year now! Of course we inquired many times if there were any kind of problems, and after many vague answers and promises they now decided to ignore us completely.

How's that?! They don't pay us, they do not report to us (agreed per contract), they ignore us and they still offer our software on their website. IMO that makes them a bunch of thieves.

We're not the only victims. I have done some digging, and none of the software they offer they wrote themselves. For most of the software offered I was able to determine the original author. I contacted them and learned they had the same experiences with Tech Assist. No reports for months and emails remain unanswered.

So, let this be a warning for all! DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH TECH ASSIST, INC.! Do not buy software from them, you will find the original software from the original authors to be less expensive! Also, due to their own actions Tech Assist does no longer receive updated software, you will be buying outdated versions.

 If you are a software author, do NOT allow them to re-brand and sell your software!

0 total comments.

There are no comments to this entry.

Post New Comment

 BraveJournal Member Non-Member
No Smilies More Smilies »
Please type the letters you see